I never know how a pure sound like but I want to be able to listen to it. So I got myself a Tibetan singing bowl because I wanted a sound that could disperse unwanted thoughts in my mind, bring back the stillness, and relax my soul. The singing bowl is generally used in meditation and prayer. To be able to produce the sound, we have to be in full concentration when striking the bowl. When the sound stopped and the silence was back, I felt my environment was “cleaner” and my body “lighter” — but not in physical sense. In this state, I tend to be more receptive and can listen well to the sound of the Nature.

In the past few years, I feel I am more sensitive to all kinds of sound and noise. Perhaps it’s due to being in constant meditative state, and because I live close to the nature all the time, where the sounds that I heard are from the whistling winds, chirping birds, and the dancing leaves. I cannot stand being surrounded by noises such as in the construction sites, from the passing cars and trains, or chattering people in a shopping mall or market. That’s one major reason why we bought a house in an extremely quiet, safe neighborhood in Australia, instead of in the middle of a busy street in a central business district somewhere. Here I wake up every morning to the sounds of birds, and breath fresh air from the hilly forest behind my house.

The singing bowl is ultimately the most precious item that I bought back home from Malaysia and another gift of love from my loving hubby.
😉